These Residential Lease Form templates are the easy solution for Rhode Island landlords who want to prepare their own tenant leases. Downloadable, customizable, and affordable.
Q. How much am I allowed to charge a tenant for a security deposit?
A. Under Rhode Island law, a landlord can only ask for a security deposit that does not exceed the amount of one month's rent. This includes all deposits - for instance, if you are charging a pet deposit that amount must be included in the total. You cannot charge 1 month's rent as a damage deposit and an additional amount for a pet deposit.
Q. How long do I have to return the deposit after the tenant moves out?
A. You must return the security deposit within 20 days after the tenant vacates the premises. If you deduct any money from the deposit, you must also provide the tenant with an itemized list of the deductions.
Q. What am I allowed to deduct from the security deposit?
A. Landlords are allowed to deduct any rent that was unpaid up to the date that the tenant moves out, and costs of repairing damage caused by the tenant other than ordinary wear and tear.
Q. Do I have to interest on the security deposit?
A. No, Rhode Island landlord-tenant laws do not require landlords to pay interest on the deposit they hold from tenants.