Download easy, re-usable lien notices, waivers and lien claim forms for Alabama contractors, subcontractors and suppliers.
Do I need to serve a preliminary notice in Alabama?
That depends. The prime contractor is not required to give preliminary notice, but subcontractors and laborers who have not contracted directly with the owner must give notice of any unpaid lien to the owner before filing a lien. Any materials supplier who provides preliminary notice will have the same lien rights as as a general contractor.
What is the deadline for filing an Alabama mechanic's lien?
The filing deadlines depend on the level and status of the claimant. You must also first provide notice to the property owner.
Original contractors have 6 months from the date on which the entire debt becomes due to file a mechanic's lien. Laborers must file within 30 days of the date on which the labor was last provided on the project. Everyone else must file their lien claim within 4 months after the date on which the last provided labor, materials or equipment to the job.
AL subcontractors and suppliers, protect your lien rights by serving a property owner with this Notice to Owner (Prior to Commencement) as required by S. 35-11-210 of the Code of Alabama.
The form must be served before work begins on the improvements.
The Notice informs the owner (and the original contractor and surety, if applicable) that the claimant will be supplying material for improvements to the property, and that the claimant will be claiming a lien for those .....