(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories


    Prepare notices to serve on your tenant or your landlord with these downloadable template Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms for Maine.

    Q. Is there a limit on how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit?

    A. Maine landlord-tenant laws limit the amount of a security deposit to no more than 2 months' rent (for rental units in buildings with more than 5 units). Landlords are also allowed to accept a surety bond in lieu of a security deposit. The landlord must return the security deposit (less any deductions for unpaid rent or damage) no later than 21 days (for at-will tenancies) or 30 days (for fixed-term leases) of the tenant vacating the rental unit.

    Q. How much notice is required before the landlord can raise the rent?

    A. For an at-will tenancy (i.e. no written lease) the landlord can only increase the rent after giving the tenant at least 45 days written notice of the increase. Landlords CANNOT require a tenant to waive this requirement. For a fixed-term lease, the rent can only be increased after the current lease term expires. There are no restrictions on how much a landlord can charge for rent.

    Q. Does the landlord have to give notice before entering the rental unit?

    A. Yes, the landlord must give the tenant reasonable notice and can only enter during reasonable times of day, except in the case of an emergency, such as a fire or a burst water pipe. "Reasonable notice" is generally considered to be 24 hours. The landlord is allowed to enter, after giving proper notice, to make repairs, alterations or improvements to the unit.

    Sort by
    Display per page