(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories


    Prepare notices to serve on your tenant or your landlord with these downloadable template Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms for Michigan.

    Q. How much can a landlord charge for a security deposit under Michigan law?

    A. Landlords can charge an amount equal to as much as 1.5 months' rent for a security deposit, which must be refunded to the tenant within 30 days of the move-out date, BUT the tenant must provide the landlord with a forwarding address within 4 days of moving out or the landlord has no obligation to make arrangements to return the deposit.

    Q. Can landlords prohibit tenants from having pets?

    A. Yes, landlords in Michigan have the right to restrict tenants from having pets or to impose a pet deposit which can be used to pay for damages caused by pets. This does not extend to service or companion animals which are not considered to be pets and are not subject to pet fees or restrictions.

    Q. Is a landlord allowed to prohibit smoking in a rental unit? What about medical marijuana?

    A. Landlords are within their legal rights to refuse to rent a privately owned rental unit to smokers. They can also include a provision in the written lease to prohibit tenants from smoking or growing marijuana on the premises, even if the tenant has a valid medical license for marijuana.

    Sort by
    Display per page