(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories


    Texas landlords can rent a house, apartment, condominium or mobile home lot to a tenant with these easy-to-use Residential Lease Forms. You can find more forms in our Texas Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms section.

    Q. How much can I charge my tenant as a damage deposit?

    A. Texas law does not set a limit on the amount a landlord can charge as a security deposit for a residential rental unit, but it should be within reason. A good guideline is to make your security deposit equal to 1 or 1 1/2 month's rent. You can also charge a pet deposit if the tenant has a pet, which would be used to pay for any damages caused by the pet.

    Q. Can I charge late fees if the tenant does not pay the rent on time?

    A. You can charge a late fee if the amount of the fee is stated in a written lease agreement. Late fees are not payable until the 1-day grace period for late rent has expired.

    Q. When do I have to return the tenant's security deposit?

    A. Provided that the tenant has given you a forwarding address, you must return the deposit within 30 days after he or she moves out. You must also provide an itemized statement of any deductions that you make from the security deposit. If you fail to do so, the tenant may have the right to sue you for three times the amount of the deposit.

    Sort by
    Display per page