(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories


    Prepare notices to serve on your tenant or your landlord with these downloadable template Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms for Illinois.

    Q. How much notice must be given to terminate a rental agreement?

    A. A month-to-month tenancy requires 30 days written notice of termination. A yearly lease requires 60 days written notice.

    Q. How much is the landlord allowed to charge as a security deposit under Illinois law?

    A. There is no legal limit on what a landlord can charge as a security deposit, however, the typical amount charged is one month's rent. If the rental building contains at least 25 units and the tenancy is longer than 6 months, the landlord is required to pay interest on the security deposit. The landlord must return the security deposit with 45 days of the move-out date.

    Q. Is there a limit on the amount by which a landlord can increase the rent?

    A. Illinois does not have a State-wide rent control law but some cities and counties have enacted rent control ordinances. A landlord must give notice of a rental increase: in the case of a monthly tenancy, one month's notice; in the case of a weekly tenancy, one week's notice. The rent cannot be raised under a fixed term lease until the lease term has expired.

    Sort by
    Display per page