Prepare notices to serve on your tenant or your landlord with these affordable easy-to-use California Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms.
All Notice Forms include a Record of Service so you can record how the Notice was served on the other party.
These easy-to-use forms can be used by tenants, landlords and rental property managers.
Downloadable, fill-in-the-blanks, printable templates that can be used over and over.
Q. How much notice is required to end a tenancy under California law?
A. If the tenant is terminating the tenancy, the notice period depends on the frequency of the rent payments unless a different notice period is specified in the rental contract. If the tenancy is month to month, the tenant must give the landlord at least 30 days notice. For a week to week rental, at least 7 days' notice is required. Termination notices must be in writing.
The landlord's notice period depends on how long the tenant has been renting the premises. If less than a year, the landlord must give the tenant 30 days' written notice. If more than a year, the landlord is required to give at least 60 days' notice. The landlord is not required to give a reason for ending the tenancy.
Q. What can the landlord do if the tenant hasn't paid the rent?
A. The landlord can serve the tenant with a 3-day notice if the tenant fails to pay the rent or has breached any provision of the rental contract or lease. A 3-day notice can also be served if the tenant is involved in illegal activities, has committed violence against another resident of the property, or for other serious violations.
If your tenant has vacated the rental premises and left abandoned items of property behind, serve the tenant with the documents in this California Reclamation of Tenant Property Forms Package, which contains the following forms:
Notice of Right to Reclaim Personal Property
The former tenant must respond to the Notice within 18 days.
If the abandoned property is worth more than $30.....