(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories


    Prepare notices to serve on your tenant or your landlord with these downloadable template Landlord and Tenant Notice Forms for Mississippi.

    Q. How much can a landlord charge for a security deposit under Mississippi law?

    A. There are no restrictions on how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit, but the standard practice is between 1 and 2 months’ rent. The deposit must be returned to the tenant within 45 days after “the termination of his tenancy, the delivery of possession and demand by the tenant” - meaning that the tenant must request the return of the deposit when they move out of the premises. The landlord must also include an itemized list of any deductions from the deposit.

    Q. Can landlords prohibit tenants from having pets?

    A. Yes, landlords in Mississippi have the right to restrict tenants from having pets or to impose a pet deposit which can be used to pay for damages caused by pets. This does not extend to service or companion animals which are not considered to be pets and are not subject to pet fees or restrictions. Pursuant to the federal Fair Housing Act, housing facilities must allow service dogs and emotional support animals, if necessary for a person with a disability to have an equal opportunity to use and enjoy the home.

    Sort by
    Display per page