A. Virginia law limits the amount of the security deposit to an amount that does not exceed two months' rent. After deducting for any damage (other than normal wear and tear), the landlord is required to return the security deposit to the tenant within 45 days after termination of the tenancy.
A. There is no rent control in Virginia, so a landlord can raise the rent as much as they like, but they must give a 30-day written notice of the increase. If a tenant objects to the new rent amount, they have the right to vacate the unit within that 30-day period.