A. Louisiana law does not set an upward limit on the amount a landlord can charge as a security deposit, but the deposit must be returned to the tenant (less any allowable deductions for damage and unpaid rent) by no later than one month after the tenancy is terminated. If the landlord fails to return the deposit on time, they may be required to pay the tenant $300 or up to twice the amount of the security deposit, whichever is greater.
A. A month-to-month tenancy requires 10 days prior notice to terminate. Weekly tenancies require 5 days notice and yearly tenancies require 30 days notice. If you have a lease for a fixed term, there is no notice period. The tenancy ends when the lease expires, unless it is renewed.
A. There is no law in Louisiana that limits the amount by which a landlord can raise the rent or governing when a landlord has to give notice of a rental increase.