A. Ohio law does not set a limit on how much the landlord can charge for a security deposit, but it does provide that if the deposit is in excess of fifty dollars or one month’s rent, whichever is the greater amount, and the tenant remains in the premises for longer than six months, the security deposit shall bear interest on the excess at the rate of five per cent per annum if the tenant remains in possession of the premises for six months or more, and shall be computed and paid annually to the tenant.
A. Section 5321.17 of the Ohio Revised Code specifies that the landlord or the tenant can terminate a month-to-month tenancy by at least 30 days' notice. A week-to-week tenancy can be terminated by at least 7 days' prior notice. The Code does not specifically state that the notice must be in writing.