A. Wisconsin laws provide that the landlord or the tenant must give the other party notice of one rental period to terminate a periodic tenancy (i.e. month-to-month, week-to-week, etc). So if the rental is month-to-month, the notice period is 28 days. A week-to-week tenancy requires 7 days' prior notice. A fixed-term lease ends on the date specified in the lease document.
A. Wisconsin law does not place a limit on the amount a landlord can charge a tenant for a security deposit, as long as it is not discriminatory. The landlord must return the security deposit (less any allowable deductions) within 21 days after the tenancy terminates.